+33 (0)4 91 85 42 78 contact@pareidolie.net

tomette jauneGALERIE CATHERINE PUTMAN

PARIS — FRANCE

 

The gallery Catherine Putman, specialized in works on paper by contemporary artists, chose to present works by three artists, having each their universe, but for whom the practice of the drawing is characterized by an invest- ment of the body, a physical and gestural presence.

Frédéric Malette has a strong drawing. His obvious academic quality is disrupted : erased, rubbed out, blackened, sometimes enhanced with very expressive almost childlike lines . He works on our colonial history, the origins of our Mediterranean classical culture, questioning alterity and identity.

Keita Mori draws with cotton and silk threads xed with a glue gun. His compositions develop across a paper sheet, a wall or a whole room. He creates spaces by the accumulation and the tangle of the threads: systems in which cracks reveal fragmented spaces, in movement.

Carmen Perrin, who occupied a studio in Marseille for 10 years, stood out as sculptor. In her practice of the drawing she uses the paper as a full material. She works in tension, by following the rhythm of her breath or the movement of a machine, by revealing the space, void and full, by the perforation. 


Featured Artists 

FREDERIC MALETTE
KEIKA MORI
CARMEN PERRIN

 

Galerie CATHERINE PUTMAN
40 Rue Quincampoix, 75004 Paris
TEL / + 33  1 45 55 23 06
contact@catherineputman.com
www.catherineputman.com

+33 (0)4 91 85 42 78 contact@pareidolie.net

tomette jauneGALERIE CATHERINE PUTMAN

PARIS

La galerie Catherine Putman, spécialisée dans les œuvres sur papier d’artistes contemporains, a choisi de présenter les œuvres de trois artistes ayant chacun leur univers mais pour lesquels la pratique du dessin se caractérise par un investissement du corps, une forte présence physique et gestuelle.

Frédéric Malette a un dessin puissant. Son évidente qualité académique est perturbée par les ratures, noircissures et gommages que lui fait subir l’artiste. Il travaille sur notre histoire coloniale, les origines de notre culture classique méditerranéenne, questionnant l’altérité et l’identité.

Keita Mori dessine en tirant des fils qu’il fixe avec un pistolet à colle. Ses compositions se développent à l’échelle d’une feuille de papier, d’un mur ou d’une salle entière. Il crée des espaces par l’accumulation et l’enchevêtrement des fils: systèmes dans lesquels les fissures révèlent des espaces éclatés, en mouvement.

Carmen Perrin, qui a occupé un atelier à Marseille pendant 10 ans, s’est imposée comme sculpteur. Dans sa pratique du dessin elle utilise le papier comme un matériau à part entière, qu’elle travaille en tension, en suivant le rythme de sa respiration ou le mouvement d’une machine, en révélant les vides et les pleins par la perforation.


Artistes présentés par la galerie

 

FREDERIC MALETTE
KEIKA MORI
CARMEN PERRIN

Galerie CATHERINE PUTMAN
40 Rue Quincampoix, 75004 Paris
TEL / + 33  1 45 55 23 06
contact@catherineputman.com
www.catherineputman.com